Rule to Stay Monday!

On Mondays I like to create a new rule, update an old rule, or just state a rule that we all know and is here to stay. This Monday in particular, it’s all about something we already know. Sticking to your word. Some of us may have forgotten how to do this, others might do it religiously. No matter the case, sticking to your word is something everyone should always be doing, not just ladies.

I can’t tell you how many times all I’ve ever wanted was honesty, or just someone to say they’re going to do something and actually follow through. We all know those ‘fair weathered friends’ who come when things are good in your life, and are gone when things are bad. It’s those same friends who swear up and down they’ll help you move, or whatever the case, and when time comes they’re no where to be found. I can’t think of one person who says “I’m really glad someone said they were going to help me and they didn’t show up.” No one says that! Because it’s not true!

Something we’ve all learned growing up is to teach people how you want to be treated. So instead of trying to change others, be the change you want to see. If you’re wishy washy with your plans, or as I like to call it “Better-Plan-Becky”, don’t make plans! For those of you who don’t know “Better-Plan-Becky” is the girl who makes plans with you but forgets them as soon as something better, or more fun for her comes up. You don’t like being ditched or when your plans fall through. You don’t like when someone says they’ll do you a favor but then they don’t. So don’t do it to other people.

If someone tells me they’re going to do something, and they don’t do it, I start questioning my friendship. Don’t get me wrong, once or twice is okay, I understand everyone is human. What I’m saying here is it’s those same people who make promises they break, the same people who break plans, the same people who just don’t stick to their word. Your credibility, especially with me, is severely impacted if you don’t follow through. I’m a big believer in ‘if I say I’m going to do something, I’m going to do it.” The type of people with the same beliefs on this topic are the people I want to surround myself with. Those are the people I want in my life. Not the shadows who disappear when things get dark.

The Modern Lady’s Rule to Stay: If a lady says she’s going to do something, she will do it.

The Modern lady's rule_-6

What are your thoughts?

xxx The Modern Lady.

About The Modern Lady's Guide

We've all heard them before, our mothers taught us, our aunts warned us, and our grandmothers led the way. The Modern Lady's Guide is bringing the old rules up-to-date. Because let's face it, if we can update our phones, hair-styles, and wardrobes, we better be able to update our rule book. So go grab a beer, and get to reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

