Skincare 101

I’m trying to get myself into better habits as far as taking care of my skin. I’m honestly the worst and I know better. I rarely wash my face in the morning and all I do at night is use a makeup removing wipe. I’ll use a moisturizer if I notice dry patches and I’ll do a mask occasionally if I feel I have time. Despite all of this, my skin is actually pretty good. I rarely break-out, if I do it’s around when my period is coming or if I’ve been extremely bad on my diet. Still though, I’m getting older and I want to prevent as much as I can.

Since I have past experience in the cosmetic industry, I know the gist of things. You need a gentle face wash, a toner, an exfoliator, spot treatment (acne,eyes,etc.) and a moisturizer. Here’s what I’ve learned and what I know:

Gentle Face Wash:
It’s important to use a gentle face wash, morning and night, because just using water isn’t enough. You need something to remove all the dirt and makeup to help other products you use to work better and look better. For example; applying mascara to completely clean lashes always looks a million times better, and applies a million times better. Not only does it enhance the way products work, but it makes your face cleaner! Duh!

Toner: (to be used after cleansing, before exfoliating)
Another product I need to start using routinely is a toner. Not only does toner help immediately hydrate your skin after cleansing, it makes your skin appear more full of life.  The main reason I need to start using a toner again is I’ve noticed in the past when I use a toner my pores shrink, and my pores are larger than ever right now.

Exfoliator: 
Using an exfoliator is definitely something I need to get into the habit of. What exfoliators do is get rid of all the excess build up on your face. You use this depending on how rough your exfoliator is, and your skin type. Some companies have ones you use once to twice a week, others have some you can use daily. It’s a matter of what you choose. Using an exfoliator routinely helps clear clogged pores, fix uneven skin tone, and takes away any ‘dullness’ in your skin.

Spot Treatment: (to be used before moisturizing)
When I say “spot treatment” I mean things like eye cream or products specifically targeted for ‘problem areas’. I’ll use spot acne treatments if I notice a breakout, but I want to get into the habit of using an eye cream more for a few reasons. One being, I’ve noticed I have dark circles, they aren’t terrible but I want to prevent that from happening. Another reason is fine lines/wrinkles! I don’t have any but I definitely don’t want to get any in the near future!

Moisturizer: (used last, always)
Since I have normal/oily skin, I use moisturizer sparingly when I notice I need it. I usually get dry around my nose and chin. There are a few types of moisturizers though and what you need depends on your skin. Since I’m oily-prone I would never use an extremely hydrating moisturizer daily, it would make me super oily! Instead, I should use a lighter hydrating moisturizer daily to keep my skin in check. Try to look for a daily moisturizer with sunscreen in it to prevent as harm from the sun, like wrinkles!

Now the routine I’m trying to get myself back into is a semi-advanced routine. You don’t need all of these things, but at the least you need a cleanser, exfoliator, and moisturizer. All of which you should use after you wake up and before you go to bed. I have a few skincare lines in mind that I’m going to try out, some for the first time, some repeating history. A personal favorite of mine has always been Benefit Cosmetics skincare line and I know it works for me. My sister is a fan of pür minerals skincare, and we both have been wanting to try some GlamGlow products as well.

What’s your current skincare routine and what are some of your favorite products?

xxx The Modern Lady.

About The Modern Lady's Guide

We've all heard them before, our mothers taught us, our aunts warned us, and our grandmothers led the way. The Modern Lady's Guide is bringing the old rules up-to-date. Because let's face it, if we can update our phones, hair-styles, and wardrobes, we better be able to update our rule book. So go grab a beer, and get to reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skincare 101

  1. Mariecrz says:

    I was just in search of new skin-care products too! 🙂
    I finally went with The Body Shop because they had a buy 3 get 2 free special (I missed out on the 40% off sale, sadly). I bought the Tea Tree Oil, which I’m hoping will help with breakouts…I usually only get them around that time of the month too. I’m also excited for the cleansing oil I bought, I can’t wait to get them in the mail and post about them. Good luck too you on finding what you’re looking for! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Milalor says:

    I use facial wipes in the morning as it makes your skin look fresher but my skincare routine is the same as yours at the minute. I really like your blog by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

