The Modern Lady’s Rule No. 5

I tend to make new rules when they apply to my life. I tend to make rules that I know I need to follow, but also know I won’t until I post it. Kind of like forcing myself to practice what I preach. It works though, after all it is my blog. Since this rule applies to me and my life, I’ll give you a little back story:

Once upon a time there was a girl, who was set up to see this guy. This guy wasn’t anything like the girls type, but she trusted who set her up and she continued to see the guy. The girl and guy were so different, but also slightly similar. For lack of better terms, we’ll say the girl was a bad girl, tattoos, piercings, and the best “I don’t give a fuck” attitude. The guy was a jock. Star athlete through high school and college and cared what mommy and daddy thought. He was more by the book, she was more free spirit. They see each other for a while, the girl fucks up, and immediately tells the guy. That’s the girl she is, she owns up to her wrongs. She tells you before you find out so you don’t look stupid.

The guy doesn’t end things with her because of this, of course he’s mad but he claims to forgive her after a while. Things move forward. Fast forward to 6 months later, the girl and guy had just spent a night together. They start fighting because the girl feels something in her gut. The guy lets her go through his phone. She finds way too much for her to handle, texting girls, seeing girls, paying girls. She leaves. She doesn’t speak to him after that. Months pass.

He tries to get ahold of her a few times, they talk a little again. Nothing serious though, just casual. She isn’t stupid. Again, things die off because he’s a womanizer. Finally, after three months of no contact, he calls her again. At 1 o’clock in the morning on a Thursday. Luckily, she’s out with friends so when she answers the call from a number she doesn’t recognize she thinks nothing of it. Its him. He pretends to be looking for someone, but she can see through his shit now. Long story short, he was trying to manipulate her again.

Obviously this story was about me and some douche I dated recently. The whole time we were seeing each other, he held it over my head that I messed up first and I was the reason for him doing what he did. Now, the old me would go back to him, and fall for his traps. The old me would be his little toy, because I’m submissive and that’s what I do. What the hell would I look like doing that now!? I respect myself way too much, now. Mainly because of him. He was the perfect example of what NOT to date. This brings me to my new rule; A lady always respects herself.

If you don’t respect yourself, you’re giving the go ahead to let other people disrespect you and walk over you. Self- respect is just that though, you might respect yourself differently than the next woman. What it all boils down to is not allowing yourself be disrespected, not allowing yourself to be someones toy.

The Modern Lady’s New Rule No. 5: A lady respects herself.

The Modern lady's rule_-4

xxx The Modern Lady.

About The Modern Lady's Guide

We've all heard them before, our mothers taught us, our aunts warned us, and our grandmothers led the way. The Modern Lady's Guide is bringing the old rules up-to-date. Because let's face it, if we can update our phones, hair-styles, and wardrobes, we better be able to update our rule book. So go grab a beer, and get to reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Modern Lady’s Rule No. 5

  1. lilypup says:

    Came over from community pool…enjoyed your story. Love this shade of pink on your blog. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

