Let’s give this rule a makeover…

I can recall countless times where my mother has told me “Ladies don’t fight.” For a while, I believed it…. Until I got into my first fight. I’ll never forget it, I was in sixth grade and an eighth grader said I was her ‘bitch’ on the bus, she then slapped me. I was furious, every “ladies don’t…” I ever had in my memory went blank. I, of course, slapped her back and continued to do so until she was on the floor with a black eye. I later got suspended, but whatever, I’m not anyone’s bitch. Was it my proudest moment? No, but I couldn’t let someone walk all over me. If everyone saw that she got away with what she did to me… What would I become? Just like I stated in my last rule, ladies always stand up for themselves.

Now, I’m not saying go out and look for a fight every chance you get. In my personal opinion, I don’t think anyone should be looking for fights. I had a friend who was always looking for fights, and let me tell you, it gets old having to hold back a riled up drunk. Like Marie, in the Aristocats said; “Ladies don’t start fights, but they can finish them!” That’s advice we should all take. Instead of the old “Ladies don’t fight” let’s bring in the new; “Ladies don’t start fights, but they can (and will) finish them!” We’ll give credit to Marie for this one. This rule is so simple, because it means exactly what it says. There’s no way to confuse this. We live in a different world today, I’m not condoning fighting in anyway, but sometimes you have to get your hands dirty. Sometimes a bitch needs to get slapped! The best way of fighting, and winning, is with intelligence though. Beat up someones mind before you raise your hand. Never throw the first punch. And PLEASE, if you’re going to try to fight someone, don’t be a little brat and try to scratch or pull hair. That just shows you’re ratchet, and we’re only allowed to be ratchet at home and when secluded with our best friends…Allowing ratchetness is for another post thought.

The Modern Lady’s Rule Number Three: “Ladies don’t start fights, but they can (and will) finish them!” -Marie “Aristocats”

The Modern lady's rule_-2

xxx The Modern Lady.

ALSO! If you haven’t seen my recent posts, I’m doing a major haul this week. I’ve been picking up products but I NEED your suggestions! If there’s a product out there you’d like reviewed, or if you have a favorite you think I might want to try, let me know in the comments!

About The Modern Lady's Guide

We've all heard them before, our mothers taught us, our aunts warned us, and our grandmothers led the way. The Modern Lady's Guide is bringing the old rules up-to-date. Because let's face it, if we can update our phones, hair-styles, and wardrobes, we better be able to update our rule book. So go grab a beer, and get to reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

