Nashville Haul!

While in Nashville I picked up a few things. I had to, there were way too many cute shops around! My best friend told me about this one shop called Pangea. It’s absolutely adorable, it’s similar to the store Francesca’s. Pangea has this warm almost cabin like layout. All along the walls are racks of clothing, some designer, some not. Between the racks are shelves and tables of accessories and cute little modern knick-knacks. My friend picked up a Kurt Vonnegut mug and Kurt Vonnegut “Saint” Candle, she’s a huge Vonnegut fan. I picked up a little book filled with post-cards, because I like to collect post-cards when I travel. I just love how the cover, and first post-card, is the classic “traveler” post-card. I think it’s adorable. I loved the Pangea store, but since it reminded me so much of a store I have back home, it wasn’t my favorite.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 12.28.13 PM

Aren’t these adorable though?!

Anyways, after Pangea we kept walking down 21st and I stumbled into my favorite boutique in Nashville, called Tennessee Chic. As soon as you walk in the shop, you hear the music we all listened to back in the 90’s and early millennium, I’m talking Janet Jackson, TLC, you get it. Right by the door there’s a chalkboard poster with “MISSING” written across the top, obviously looking like a missing poster. Who was missing? Taylor Swift. Rumor has it, she recently moved to New York. Once you get past reading the quirky poster, you see the store. Set up like a boutique you’d see on Rodeo drive. Along the two main walls are the latest designs and outfit ideas. In the middle of the store, there’s a couple tables. One with a few tanks and tees, the rest with accessories and jewelry. My eyes immediately saw this baseball tee on the first table and I had to have it. Not only because I love baseball tee’s but because… well I’ll just show you.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 12.30.20 PM

This shirt is everything I stand for. Haha! But seriously, if you can’t read it it says “PROUD SUPPORTER OF MESSY HAIR AND SWEATPANTS”. Obviously I had to have it, I grabbed a size too big so I have the option to wear it off the shoulder. I was like a kid in a candy shop, I knew this store was the one I wanted to get something for my sister and mom in. Right behind the poster when you walk in, theres a shelf set up and I saw these napkins that I had to get for my mom.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 12.27.53 PM

I never thought I would be okay with spending $12 on napkins, but how sweet are these?!

Now, toward the back of Tennessee Chic, there’s fitting rooms, a wall with a bunch of crazy mirrors set up, a sale section, and more graphic tees! This shop just kept getting better. My eyes first went to one with a silhouette of Johnny Cash, and it read “Cash is King”. I thought that would be perfect for my sister, until I saw another shirt that was black, and in white bold letters it read; “Johnny, Willie, Waylon, & _________” I forgot the last one but it’s a well known country singer I can tell you that! Haha! I couldn’t decide, then my friend came up to me with a shirt that was perfect.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 12.30.04 PM

We know I love baseball tee’s.

They had this in a few different colors, but I loved the teal and I knew my sister would too. I photographed it with the necklace I bought for her too. Here’s a close up.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 12.28.43 PM

I later found out this necklace, along with the napkins, are locally made. The necklace says “I believ’n …” on the silver part and on the guitar pick it says “the music in my soul!” My sister has always played guitar and sang, and I know she’s always wanted to move to Nashville, so this was perfect for her. I thought I was done looking around the shop and I was getting ready to purchase my things, but of course I had to do a final “walk through” and I’m glad I did! I found this cardigan, and it’s on it’s way to being my new favorite cardigan.

Screen Shot 2015-01-25 at 12.29.03 PM

I’m seriously obsessed. I think I’m going to wear it with my “PROUD SUPPORTER OF MESSY HAIR AND SWEATPANTS” tee, or if I want to dress it up, I’ll figure out a way. I was finally done, and I went to the register. There was only one lady working, and she was very helpful during my whole visit and not in an annoying way. We got to talking and I found out she moved to Nashville, from Minnesota, and opened the shop herself! She was a little young sweet thing, and I was so happy her shop was my favorite, as I spent a decent amount of money. She’s the one who told me the napkins and necklace are locally made. Anyways, we finished our conversation and she handed me my bag. Let me tell you, the name Tennessee Chic is exactly what this store is, even down to the receipt and shopping bag. Everything is so simple and classy, I love it! I also picked up a post-card from the store, which I didn’t photograph. It says “I love you more than sweet tea and Garth Brooks.”

Of course, I had to go to a bookstore while in Nashville. I didn’t grab photos of any of the books I bought, but I’ll just tell you. I picked up a pocket Constitution of the United States, just for reference, and I didn’t pay attention in school! Haha! I also picked up Brand New World, which was recommended to me by a friend of mine. Lastly, I picked up Michelle Phan’s “Make Up: Your Life Guide to Beauty, Style, and Success– Online and Off!” I’ve been watching Michelle Phan since I was a preteen learning make up on YouTube. I had no idea she had a book, so obviously I had to have it! It’s currently sitting right next to my vanity. I’ve flipped through it a few times but it’s so pretty I don’t want to break the binding just yet!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this haul! Please remember, I am not bragging and I bought everything myself with my own money, that I got from working my job.

Let me know what you’d like to see coming up, and stay tuned for Monday’s Lady Rule!

xxx The Modern Lady.

About The Modern Lady's Guide

We've all heard them before, our mothers taught us, our aunts warned us, and our grandmothers led the way. The Modern Lady's Guide is bringing the old rules up-to-date. Because let's face it, if we can update our phones, hair-styles, and wardrobes, we better be able to update our rule book. So go grab a beer, and get to reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

